As a Human, I Fear I Have Too Much Crap

27 Sep

Day 17 of the 90 in 90 blog challenge.

So I’m currently in the extra bedroom of my house, which I have been using for storage for all of my possessions while I was away for a “Summer In Ohio.” (Last Five Years reference? Anyone? No? Okay.) I’m trying to decide what to take, what to leave, what to give away, what to sell, what to shove up my nose in frustration and then just throw out the window…

I mean SERIOUSLY. How much STUFF does one human being need to survive!? Like… I’m just sitting on the bed typing and I’m looking around. And just sitting here I can see… okay, let’s see here…um, a toaster oven? (Eh, practical…) A sexy raptor costume (alright, well, that is absolutely necessary for my lifestyle…) Um, what else… Oh, you know, just two bronze female body building statues that I stole from my high school and displayed proudly all throughout college… (Um… not practical or necessary, but totally understandable and arguably desirable…)

Pictured from left to right: Bruhellda. Helga.

OKAY! Okay, Mom, you win. I DO HAVE TOO MUCH STUFF. I’m TRYING to get rid of it so you don’t get left with it… But when you’re deciding if you should keep your prized body building ladies, your raptor costume, and your delicious confection oven… well, these are TOUGH life decisions that need to be taken seriously, you know!?

How am I ever going to be out of my parent’s house in two days?

2 Responses to “As a Human, I Fear I Have Too Much Crap”

  1. Genevieve Conlin October 8, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    I love this one and I can totally relate! I’ve recently [oh…wait….it’s been over two months now…hmmm] moved to Charlotte and I can’t get organized. I’m sitting here looking at a pile on the floor consisting of a rubix cube I won at an 80s Tribute Band concert, a toy eagle that balances on your finger that I got from the last trip my mother, sister, and I ever took together to The Natural Bridge [odd family tradition, but we did it every year and then just stopped,] three packages of film negatives JUST IN CASE I want a duplicate of…I don’t even know, a string of pink flamingo lights that doesn’t even work anymore but ONE DAY I will find the lone broken bulb, replace it, and enjoy it’s soft pink glow again, etc. CRAP…. but I can’t, I just can’t throw it out.

    • Carolyn October 9, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Hahah! The natural bridge! I’ve been there 🙂 And I know exactly what kind of toy eagle you’re talking about. I won one at discovery zone once when I was 7. I don’t think you should throw those things out until you can imagine your life without them.

Say Something About This... Or, you know, just something. In general. About anything.

