Do Not Read Until 9-14-2013

14 Sep

Day 4 of the 90 in 90 blog challenge.

Dear Year-From-Now-Me,

Hey girl, hey. First of all, step away from the pasta. I know you probably have some in your hands right now, and I’m gonna need you to “Just. Stop.” K great thanks.

Anyway, how are you doing? Any better than I am right now? I guess I’m writing to you because I want you to remember how scared you’re feeling right now, and I want you to be able to look back on this letter and laugh at yourself. I want you to be able to say, “What was I worried about? The fact that I’m moving to Orlando and I don’t have a job lined up yet?! I have an amazing job now, and I’m happy! I shouldn’t have spent so much of my time and energy worrying!” If you can say that, congratulations! You’re amazing! You’re incredible! I love you! Thank you for taking care of us!

If you can’t say that, I reiterate: Step away from the pasta, put down the bottle of wine, and go run 3 miles. Then start job searching, you loser.

I just came back from a trip to Muncie. The last trip there for… well, who knows how long, but I’m thinking a long time because I’m going to be in Orlando. It felt really great to see everyone again, to know that I’m just as important to the people I’ve left behind as they are to me. Sometimes, you don’t realize the impact you have on other people. It’s nice to be reminded of that. And it’s also nice to be reminded of just how much those people have impacted you. So, I guess what I’m wanting you to do is think about who you are impacting now, and who you are letting impact you. And then remind yourself just how blessed you are to have those people in your life. Don’t take them for granted.

Also, if you haven’t gotten your tonsils out yet, would you (once again) Just. Stop. being a scared little wimp and schedule the appointment? The golf ball sized things aren’t going to go away on their own, you know? C’mon. Singers get their tonsils out all the time. What are you so afraid of?

It’s weird to think that when you read this, you’re going to have all of the answers that I want right now… “Where will I work?” “What will I do if I don’t get hired?” “Will I miss snow?” “Are you dating anyone? Do you even care about that in your life?” “Are you happy?” “What do you do on your time off?” “Have you started the novel you want to write?”

Then again, I guess I wouldn’t want all of the answers right now, you know? Being young and unemployed is something everyone has to go through. I guess knowing all of the answers would take away from the terrifying excitement of it all. Also, right now I know you’re probably smiling reading this, doing that thing where you pinch-fold your bottom lip between your pointer finger and thumb. Stop that. You can smile, but the pinch-and-fold-the-bottom-lip-thing has got to go. You look stupid when you do that. Remember when you caught yourself doing it in the reflection of the giant window in the library on campus? Yeah. Not cute.

Well year-from-now-me, I guess that’s it. Thanks for listening. OH! And if you haven’t been running, go running, okay? You’re happier when you work out. Call your mother more often, too. And if Caitlyn has been borrowing your clothes, don’t get too mad at her. She’s your sister, it’s kind of her job. And that’s one of the things you were most excited about, remember? Now, if that skinny whore is taking your shit and not giving it back and spilling low-cal oxygen-induced accai essence juice on it or something, you claim back that top faster than she can say “But… You’re not even wearing it!” There’s only so much you can take, you know?

Always,
Year-Ago-You

Say Something About This... Or, you know, just something. In general. About anything.

