Keeping In Touch

17 Aug

Mahogany floorboards creak beneath our backs
I give myself over and slide into relax.
You’re beautiful, you said, and the candles’ wax cried.
We’re on strike three of too many tries.

And now I know
when the storm crawls through the window
where I chose constant sunlight
and you chose blackened snow-
That it’s here where we are,
and not where we’ll go.

I want to keep in touch with you.
Keep in touch all night.
Write your letters on my backbone,
Sketch your memories inside.

I’ve never been one to say goodbyes
Those birds on the wires refuse to fly.
It’s up to you, you said, and I drove staring on.
You brushed out my hair, and told me it’s long.

And now I’m really done.
The idea of you and you are not really one,
I chose endless sky
and you chose deepest sea,
So it’s here where we were,
and not where we’ll be.

I want to keep in touch with you.
Keep in touch all night.
Write your letters on my backbone,
Sketch your memories inside.

Where we once kept touch, we now keep distance
So we leave it be, goodbye and good riddance.
But when the rain falls in and the floorboards creak
I only hear candle wax and whispered lovers speak.

I want to keep in touch with you.
I want to keep my touch in you.
I want to keep your touch in me.
But what once was will never again be.

Say Something About This... Or, you know, just something. In general. About anything.

